The approach to Clonalis House is through a set of magnificent gates along an avenue which meanders through pasture and woodland and then over looking a parkland of oak and copper beach trees, nestled in a crescent of cypress and redwood trees stands a grand Victorian residence regarded by many as one of Ireland’s most important historic properties.
The O’Conor family (O’Connor family) are direct descendants of the last High Kings of Ireland who were also the traditional kings of Connacht. It is said that their demense at Clonalis is the last remnant of the ancient Kingdom of Connacht.
Clonalis House was built in 1878 by Charles Owen O’Conor Don. This imposing building has 45 rooms and was built in Victorian Italianate style. Clonalis has been sensitively restored over the last decade and guests will find an elegant house with a large collection of family portraits, telling a unique and interesting story.
The Library lined with ancient tomes, some of which date to the 16th century, is a wonderful room to spend time sitting by the peat fire and absorbing a sense of history. The handsome Dining Room with its portraits of generations of O’Conors, the elegant Drawing Room and the peaceful Chapel all contribute to the atmosphere which is Clonalis.
Pyers and Marguerite O’Conor Nash have lived here with their family since 1981, in a house filled with a warm and friendly atmosphere, where the sense of history blends easily with the aroma of turf fires.
We are very pleased that Clonalis House received the
‘Georgina Campbell Award for Country House of the Year 2012′